University of San Diego Digital USD

News Releases

USD News

1981-12-07

ACLU Award goes to USD Law Professor

Office of Public Information

Follow this and additional works at: https://digital.sandiego.edu/newsreleases

Digital USD Citation

Office of Public Information, "ACLU Award goes to USD Law Professor" (1981). *News Releases*. 2792. https://digital.sandiego.edu/newsreleases/2792

This Press Release is brought to you for free and open access by the USD News at Digital USD. It has been accepted for inclusion in News Releases by an authorized administrator of Digital USD. For more information, please contact digital@sandiego.edu.



NEWS RELEASE UNIVERSITY OF SAN DIEGO

OFFICE OF PUBLIC RELATIONS DIRECTOR: SARA FINN, APR PUBLICATIONS AND INFORMATION OFFICER: SANDRA A. EDELMAN TELEPHONE: 714-291-6480 / EXT. 4296 ADDRESS: RM. 266 DE SALES HALL, ALCALA PARK, SAN DIEGO, CA 92110

For immediate release

ACLU award goes to USD law professor

Nathaniel Nathanson, distinguished professor of law at the University of San Diego School of Law since 1977, was honored on December 6 by the American Civil Liberties Union, Illinois Division, at their annual Bill of Rights Celebration dinner in Chicago.

Nathanson was selected to receive the ACLU's 1981 Civil Liberties Award, according to a statement issued by the Chicago ACLU offices, for his "long and outstanding work with the organization."

A graduate of Yale and Harvard and professor emeritus at Northwestern University's law school, Nathanson served the ACLU regional board for nearly 40 years, sitting as vice chairman during part of his tenure. Now an honorary director of the organization, Nathanson described his work as essentially concerned with policy decisions, although, he says, he also did "some work for them as a lawyer."

Nathanson shared the ACLU spotlight with author Studs Terkel, presented with the James P. McGuire Press Award for his "lifelong journalistic concern for individual rights"; and Mary Alice Rankin, coordinator of the Illinois Coalition University of San Diego ACLU award, 2 - 2 - 2 - 2

against the Death Penalty, who received the Annetta Dieckmann Volunteer Award for her "commitment to the value and dignity of human life."

#

12/7/81



BOARD OF DIRECTORS *Richard Prins President •Marcia Lipetz Vice President, Legislation *Harvey Wineberg Vice President, Development *Margo Krupp Vice President, Program *Bothul; Solutemen *Bettylu Saltzman Vice President, Membership *Edwin Rothschild Vice President, Liligetion; General Counsel Marshall Patner General Counsel *Kathleen Roseborough Secretary Louis Weiss Peter Barglow ·Robert Be ennett * Jeffrey Colman Rachel Rosen DeGolia Howard Eglit Fred Eychaner Timuel Black Barry Faye Aviva Futorian *Diane Geraghty Larry Golden Ralph Goldenberg George Grossman David Hacker Franklyn Haiman Phyllis Handelman Christie Hefner Barbara Hillman Helen Hart Jones Jetta Jones Burton Joseph Ronald Kennedy Ira Kipnis Carol Kipperman Kenneth Lehman Robert Lehrer J. Roderick MacArthur George McCoy Wilson McDermut Paddy McNamara
Wendy Musto
Zena Naiditch
Dawn Clark Netsch
Gilda Parrella
Winde Parrella Wayne Parsons Alexander Polikoff Alexander Polikoff Harold Rogers Raymond Romero Nancy Rosen Lya Dym Rosenblum Marvin Rosner Marvin Hosner Sheribel Rothenberg Merle Royce Alan Saks Eric Steele Geoffrey Store James Swarson Rebecca Sive-Tomashelsky Bernard Weisberg Quentin Young *Frances Kahn Zemans CHAPTER REPRESENTATIVES Scott Eatherly Stephen Daniels Mike Knight Brendan Liddell James Lively Herb Lotz H W. Norton **Dalias** Price George Ripplinger John Schumaker Jan Susler HONORARY DIRECTORS Robert Drake Alex Elson Walter Fisher Lillian Herstein Nathanial Nathanson Tyler Thompson STAFF Jay A Miller Executive Director Harvey Grossman Legal Director Susan Bandes Lois Lipton Lois Lipton Staff Counsel Kathleen Miller Development Director Toni Schlesinger Public Information Director Dianne McQuillen Administrative Assistant Executive Committee

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Wednesday, November 25, 1

Studs Terkel To Receive ACLU Press Award December 6

Author and Radio Host Studs Terkel will receive the American Civil Liberties Union's James P. McGuire Press Award for his lifelong journalistic concern for individual rights.

The award will be presented at the Roger Baldwin Foundation of ACLU's Bill of Rights Celebration Dinner on December 6 at the Ambassador West Hotel.

The award is named in memory of the famous Chicago Sun-Times reporter who served as the inspiration for the investigative reporter played by James Stewart in the film, "Northside 777." 4328

Nathaniel Nathanson, an honorary director of the ACLU emeritus and and a Northwestern University Law Professor also will be honored at the dinner. He will receive the 1981 Civil Liberties Award for his long and outstanding work with the organization.

Mary Alice Rankin, coordinator of the Illinois Coalition Against the Death Penalty, will receive the Annetta Dieckmann Volunteer Award for her commitment to to the value and dignity of human life.

The celebration of the 190th Anniversary of the Bill of Rights is the Roger Baldwin Foundation of ACLU's major fund-raising event of the year. Contributions support the work of the ACLU's legal program for 1982.

-MORE-

currently Distinguished Professor of Low since 1977 at U.S.D.



1(

1

Cocktails begin at 4:30 in The Guild Hall. Following is a buffet dinner, award presentations, entertainment by Oscar Brown, Jr. and dancing to the Joe Vito Orchestra.

The Ambassador West is located at 1300 N. State Street in Chicago.

Tickets are \$50 per person and may be purchased by calling the ACLU at (312) 558-1230.

<u>Contact:</u> ACLU (312) 558-1230; Development Director Kathleen Miller (home: 664-1198); Public Information Director Toni Schlesinger (home: 327-4657).

;